Our History

About Us

The Association of Gynecologists and Obstetricians of South Sudan (AGOSS) is the only organization that groups South Sudanese obstetricians and Gynaecologists. It was established in April 2015 by a group of 15 South Sudanese Obstetricians and Gynecologists (list below). The first few years were a challenge, having few Gynecologists in the Country. However, AGOSS is gaining more and more credibility and it now has 61 members, has established relationships with several partners, and is involved in many projects. In 2021, AGOSS had a fruitful discussion with the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Juba Teaching Hospital and the association was able to gain an office space with a set address to establish a secretariat. AGOSS has also moved forward by extending membership to include other disciplines, including midwives and Associate Clinicians.


  1. Professor Mathew Atem Aduol
  2. Dr. Alexander Hezkia Dimiti
  3. Dr. Justin Ambago Clement
  4. Dr. Solomon Patricio Balous
  5. Dr. Makur Matur Kariom
  6. Late Dr. Festo Jambo Elias
  7. Dr. Kuma Chuol Biel
  8. Professor Yoanis Edward Odhok
  9. Dr. John Besensio Wani
  10. Dr. Paul Ater Kwar
  11. Professor Arkangelo Ayiga Mona
  12. Dr. Anthony Lupai Simon
  13. Dr. Martin Maring Aggrey
  14. Dr. Bakhit Mawein Ubur
  15. Dr. Mergani Abdalla Mohammed